Getting to know my camera

Trying different things with lighting, shadow, focus, angle, subject. Some of the better shots:

 

I tend to name my possessions… for example Jumbie the Zune, Tiberius the laptop (R.I.P.), and Alonso and Julian the pillow pets (triceratops and unicorn, respectively). But I don’t yet feel well-acquainted¬†enough with the camera I received as a gift to bequeath it a name. Perhaps through taking photos for this blog we’ll progress in our relationship.

Given my off-campus situation this semester, alongside various other resources I don’t have access to my college’s fancy cameras. Although this is a bummer, I think it’s probably for the best that, sooner rather than later, I a) cut the cord and learn how to survive outside the college bubble and without all of its comforts (I don’t even want to think about how much I’ll miss the wonderful publications and databases…)¬†and b) familiarize myself with my own equipment since it’s what I’ll realistically have at my disposal in the future anyway.

With this point-and-shoot model, I am limited in what kind of technical adjustments I can make to my shots. But I do have the whole wide world of composition to explore, and I intend to make the most of this opportunity. So, dear camera, let’s be friends.

Leave a Reply

